Super Simple French Toast

It was such a fine summer winter weekend. I got to spend some quality time with my man at the beach in Orange County. What? The beach? Yep. The beach. It was high 70’s and beautiful this weekend. No big deal.

n11712448_31473198_9991

Okay, I’ll stop rubbing it in for those of you living in the low negatives.

IMG_2010

One of the many reason’s I love Chris is because he eats everything I put in front of him and loves it! While I’ve often referred to him as the garbage disposal, I always mean it in the nicest way possible. How can I not love someone who says “Mmmm” after everything I feed him and then proceeds to eat 3 more servings of it? I also adore that when we go out to dinner we always order strategically so that the items are mutually delicious and we can swap plates half way through. Oh, AND we are perfectly comfortable discussing what’s for breakfast the next day as we chow down on a three course meal for dinner. We like food.

IMG_0392

On Saturday night we went to a delicious dinner at Summer House in Corona Del Mar that was part of restaurant week. For $50 we each got an appetizer, entrée and a dessert. Whata deal! I always said I was a cheap date. Anyways, as I ate Ahi Poke with crispy wontons chips and stole nibbles of Chris’s salad, he brought up a particularly grand idea for breakfast on Sunday morning. We proceeded to discuss breakfast over a 12 oz. steak and a macadamia nut crusted mahi-mahi. After the chocolate soufflé and ice cream topped with fresh berries, Chris drove us to Ralphs (while sedated in one of his famous food comas, scary I know) and we grabbed a hearty loaf of day-old French bread to make none other than the Super Simple French Toast.

Ingredients:IMG_1995

4 eggs

¼ cup of milk

¼ tsp nutmeg

½ tsp vanilla

1 tsp of cinnamon

½ tsp of salt

Butter for frying

6-8 (1/2 in.) slices of crusty French Bread

Maple Syrup

 

How?

Mix together the eggs, milk, spices, and salt and pour into a shallow dish.

IMG_1996

Places bread slices into the mixture and allow them to soak for 30 seconds on each side.

IMG_2001

Melt a pad of butter in a hot pan and place the slices of bread in the pan over medium heat.

IMG_2004

Let them get nice and crispy on the outside yet still soft in the middle, 5-7 minutes on each side. Serve with maple syrup and if it’s in the upper 70’s in your town take a seat in the back yard with your loved ones, a cup o’ Joe and these babies:

IMG_2009

Oh, did I mention that Chris can make a mean over-easy egg? Or three?! His egg flippin’ skills are unparalleled.

IMG_2012

From the Little Yellow Kitchen,

Lauren

18 Responses to “Super Simple French Toast”

  1. when do i get some of that!? hahahaha looks delicious!!

  2. Mmmm that french toast looks so good! I love how quick and simple, yet how tasty french tosat is.

    That picture is so cool of you reflecting in the sun glasses.

  3. Mmm . . . now I have a craving for some French toast. Love it!

  4. I am as impressed with the photography as I am with the delicious recipes. Keep it up. Love the site.

  5. I LOVE it… Thick French Toast… there’s nothing better = )

  6. I’ve been away from your blog for a little while and I cant believe all the good recipes I’ve missed!
    Nice pic with your man,btw 🙂

  7. Looks like you found your soul mate in Chris. Nothing better than discussing what’s for breakfast while eating dinner. Great photo of the reflection in the sunglasses.

  8. Just made it for my husband and myself and it was delicious!!!!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a comment