An Easy D.I.Y.

Lately I’ve been following some pretty neat DIY blogs. They are inspiring! Of course I’ve ignored the inspiring feeling because I am the last person that anyone would ever want a handmade gift from. My friends and family can attest to the fact that I have no artistic skill and my handwriting resembles a 10 year old boy’s (although I can type with the best of them). Chrissy is usually the one plating the dishes because if it were up to me I would stack cookies, waffles, french toast, maybe even Hungry Belly Breakfast Sandwiches(!) as high as I could get them — then snap the  picture, just because I thought it looked impressive and is fun to do. I’m working on this awful habit for the sake of the blog.

Some projects, where I have put my pride aside and enlisted the help of my structural engineer boyfriend, my less artistically challenged friend Chrissy, and my even less artistically challenged friend Darci, really haven’t turned out too bad. For example, these little Do It Yourself Christmas coasters really took some hulk sized muscle I didn’t even know two girls under 115lbs could manage. But we did! And our mama’s were able to have a suitable Christmas present because of it.

So, here’s how to make your own coasters:

Wait, first, pull on your lumberjack flannels . Ok, now you know that you’re ready for some action.

Then, collect these items:

  • Mod Podge
  • Foam brush
  • Super cute fabric
  • 4×4 pieces of birch wood
  1. If you couldn’t find coaster size pieces of would, get sawin’. Then get sandin’.
  2. Once you have soft and splinter-free squares, apply a coat of Mod Podge to the top.
  3. Lay a  piece of fabric on top that will match the size of the coaster and then paint another coat of Mod Podge over it.  Repeat the layers of Mod Podge about 3-5 times to ensure a glossy and smooth sheen.

 

 

You can get creative with many different patterned fabrics

Drying between layers of Mod Podge

Tie together 6-8 coasters with a nice bow and give them to your Mama. She will love them!

 

P.S. Notice our new Twitter bird to the right?! You should follow us.

P.S.S. I figured out that HTML. All.by.my.self. 🙂

From the Little Yellow Kitchen,

Narration by Lauren

Tutorial by Chrissy

7 Comments to “An Easy D.I.Y.”

  1. “from the little yellow kitchen” is expanding in its ideas–GREAT job on photography and narration/explanation of ‘things.’

  2. YAY GIRL POWER! love your hands on projects haha

  3. Girls with saws and flannels = sexy, and the coasters are such a cute idea! I’m staying away from sharp objects for now (after my run-in with the food processor yesterday) but I will definitely give this a try! I love DIY arts & crafts projects!

  4. I’ve got tons of flannels, but all of a sudden W has turned into a country boy wearing flannels every other day so we def have to discuss wardrobe so we don’t go out in public both rockin them…haha!!! Saws-not that’s hardcore!

Leave a Reply

