Mexican Hot Cocoa for 2

Chris whisked me away to a surprise location this weekend. Which I am surprised remained a surprise, since he can’t keep a surprise very well. Eh hem.  Anyways, this is the first year (out of four) that I haven’t guessed or talked him into telling me what my Christmas and/or birthday gifts are.

On Saturday, we drove down the coast a ways as I kept guessing where we were headed. Then we arrived in Cardiff by the Sea and Chris pointed up the hill and said “That’s where were staying!”.

Picture from cardifflodge.com

A bed and breakfast by the sea: Cardiff by the Sea Lodge. We sat by the fire pit on the rooftop garden terrace sipping wine for three or four hours looking out at the ocean. Clearly he set himself quite a standard to meet next year…

Onward to the food.

Chris took me to a fancy shmancy Italian dinner at Trattoria Positano and we strategically ordered the following tasty dishes:

It was 9pm. We were hungry. The prosciutto and fig salad didn't get a proper photo.

 

GNOCCHI alla BOSCAIOLA
Porcini mushrooms, fresh tomato, onion, sage oil and parmesan cheese. Yes please.

 

Chris gets really excited when a waiter offers fresh parm. The poor chef probably wouldn’t have thought his snow storm of cheese was as funny as I did though.

TRENETTE MISTO MARE
Flat spaghetti pasta with fresh water langostino, catch of the day, sautéed with white truffle butter, cherry tomato, parsley and white wine. Oh my.

The next day, we woke up and sat in the rooftop gardens again to eat breakfast. I miss that rooftop. I think I’ll need one on my house someday, with a plethora of fresh herbs. Yep.

After we left paradise Cardiff by the Sea we spent a fantastic day in La Jolla, until the angry clouds rained on my parade.

The rain called for a Mexican Hot Cocoa served in my newly thrift-ed mug.

I told you it was a great birthday. Maybe 23 won’t be too bad after all 🙂

 

Mexican Hot Cocoa for 2

Whad’ya need?

4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (perhaps more if you really like it chocolatey)
4 tablespoons sugar
2 1/2 cups milk
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Pinch of cayenne
Marshmallows to taste 🙂

How To:

Mix together cocoa powder and sugar. Heat milk in a medium saucepan over very low heat with cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne and cocoa mixture. Whisk thoroughly until chocolate has melted and milk begins to simmer. Do not boil. Pour into two mugs and top with marshmallows.

Tell us in the comments: Whats your favorite birthday meal?

From the Little Yellow Kitchen,

Lauren

 

5 Comments to “Mexican Hot Cocoa for 2”

  1. The lodge looks amazing! Glad you had a fun bday, Cush.

  2. The marshmallows look perfectly melted in the Mexican Hot Cocoa, just the way I like it! Delish.

  3. that spaghetti looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

