Lemon Herb Dutch Oven Chicken

I have been wanting to do this for a while now… but I needed a little inspiration. Thanks so much Julie @ The Little Kitchen !

With the temptation of a delicious  rotisserie chicken at a steal of a price for just $6.99 and ready to eat, it’s so hard to turn down. And the stores are smart, they always have these sitting on a warmer, right near the checkout. Normally, I’d just grab one and go, but not this time; this time I sacked up and bought a little raw 4.5 lb fryer chicken, some veggies and herbs, and set out on a culinary adventure. Not only does it give me the satisfaction of knowing I cooked a tasty chicken from scratch, but also it gives me the liberty to incorporate different flavors with much less sodium! Score!

Here’s how the fun process works:

First, grate some lemon peel.

Combine lemon peel with chopped fresh rosemary and thyme, and some salt and pepper and a pad of  butter.

Rub the herb butter on chicken breast, underneath the skin. This will  make it super moist and extra tasty!

Coarsely chop carrots, celery, and onion.

Make the Spice Rub and apply to the skin of the chicken….really rub it on there good,  you won’t regret it.

Then stuff the cavity of the chicken with a few handfuls of veggies, along with a quartered lemon and a sprig of rosemary.

I bet right now you are getting so excited that you are almost ready to get your little guy cooking. I know that I was so giddy… but first, you should infuse some olive oil with a few smashed cloves of garlic and rosemary.

Put the chicken in, breast-side down to brown for 5 minutes. Add the remainder of the veggies around the chicken.

Flip the chicken over, breast-side up, and let other side brown for another 5 minutes. I threw some more thyme on top too, just for fun.

Put the lid on the b-e-a-utiful dutch oven, and put in the oven.

After about 30 minutes, pull it out and pour in the wine along with placing  the quartered potatoes on top. Put the top back on and pop back in the oven for another half n hour or so.

Check done-ness with instant thermometer (our new kitchen tool, compliments of Lauren’s dad, Thanks Mike!)

Take chicken out of the pot, and set on cutting board (with grooves, so juice doesn’t flow all over the place), cover with foil for 20 minutes.

Transfer the potatoes to a bowl.

Add in parmesan cheese, chopped rosemary and thyme, salt and pepper, a pad of butter, and some milk. Get smashing, until preferred texture.

Strain out the juices from the solids, applying a little pressure on the solids to help the process, and discard them. Then let the juices settle and spoon out the fat, which is that whole top layer. Cook the remaining juice with lemon juice and serve this “sauce” with the chicken & smashed potatoes!

Meanwhile, chop up some onions, green bell pepper, and trim some asparagus. Drizzle with olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar, and sprinkle with garlic salt. Let bake in the oven for about 10 minutes.

Plate the chicken, smashed potatoes, and crispy balsamic veggies… and you have an amazing 100% home-cooked 3 dish dinner!!

Ingredients:

1 whole roasting chicken (41/2 to 5 pounds), giblets removed and discarded,

salt & pepper

1-2 Tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

4 celery stalks, chopped

4 carrots, peeled and chopped

7 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed

3 sprigs fresh rosemary (one to stuff in the chicken, and one to finely chop)

2 Tbsp fresh thyme, finely chopped

1 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp lemon peel, grated

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 cup dry white wine

4 red potatoes, cleaned and quartered

Spice rub: (1 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 tsp paprika, 1 tsp onion powder, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper) This combination was inspired from The Little Kitchen blog

Chicken Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and arrange racks to make room for dutch oven.

2. Pat the chicken dry with paper towels and season outside with spice rub (see directions above).

3. Mix butter, rosemary, thyme, and lemon peel and distribute evenly underneath the skin, atop the chicken breast. Stuff the chicken cavity with the carrots, celery, onions, 4 cloves smashed garlic, sprig of rosemary, 2-3 wedges of lemon.

4. In a large Dutch oven over high, heat the oil and add small sprig of rosemary (only the leaves) along with 3 smashed cloves of garlic to infuse the oil. Add the chicken, breast-side down. Scatter the remaining onion, celery, and carrots around chicken.

5. Cook until the breast is lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Flip the chicken breast-side up and cook another  6 to 8 minutes. Add in the wine.

6. Cover with lid and transfer the pot to the oven and cook until an instant-read thermometer registers 160 degrees when inserted in thickest part of breast and 175 degrees in thickest part of thigh, about 60 to 80 minutes. Halfway through, throw the quartered red potatoes on top, close the lid and return to oven.

7. Once it’s finished cooking, first take out the quartered potatoes and put aside, in a medium bowl. Then, transfer the chicken to carving board, tent with foil and let rest for 20 minutes.

8. Now the fat has to be separated from the juice. While the chicken is resting, strain chicken juices from the pot through fine-mesh strainer into a glass measuring bowl, pressing on solids to extract liquid. Discard the solids (carrots/celery/onion). You don’t want to eat the veggies since they are doused in fat, although I suppose they are tasty.

9. Allow the liquid to settle, about 3 minutes, then pour back into dutch oven and set over low heat.

10. Carve the chicken, adding any accumulated juices to the saucepan (if at all possible). Stir lemon juice into the saucepan to create some really delicious “au jus” type sauce, and serve with chicken.

Herb-Parmesan Smashed Potatoes preparation:

1. Smash potatoes with fork, or a masher if you have it.

2. Add a pad of butter, 2 Tbsp of grated parmesan cheese, 1/4-1/2 cup milk, 1 tsp chopped fresh thyme, and 1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary, salt and pepper to taste. Mix until desired consistency (it’s best to start with less liquid, and then adding more as needed). Also it would be a great idea to add in a few tablespoons of the chicken “au jus”.

3. Enjoy!

From the Little Yellow Kitchen

-Chrissy

88 Responses to “Lemon Herb Dutch Oven Chicken”

  1. May I say this looks divine! What a delicious feast! (bookmarking now…) Also love the Cupcake chardonnay – what a cute label!

  2. Ooh looks good! I need to try this and your mashed potatoes!

  3. Um. WOW!

    Thanks for the inspiration for my Saturday menu…

    🙂

  4. To bad that I’m a vegetarian, the pics looked gorgeous I could almost smell it! The lemon that is!

  5. Wow this looks great! I just bought my first dutch oven and I’m going to try this over the weekend. Also, I really like the format of your blog – the step-by-step photos are very helpful. Thanks for the cooking inspiration!

  6. This looks really good. I use a lot of lemon and limes on my dishes, especially my fish. This is something to try.

  7. It looks amazing! I think I’ll have to give it a try.

  8. Thanks for reminding me that not all food blogs are created equal, Chrissy. I love spending time in my kitchen, and I love reading blogs, but a good deal of recipe blogs tend to leave me unsatisfied. There’s so much emphasis these days on 30-minute meals and getting in and out of the kitchen as quickly as possible, and I understand that there’s a need for that in our lifestyle. But I think there’s something absolutely sacred about slowing down and spending time on a task. And of all the things to slow down and spend time on, cooking–especially cooking for other people–must be among the most sacred. Hospitality means slowing down. In fact, my most recent post touches a bit on that idea. Feel free to read! And I simply cannot wait to try your dutch oven chicken 🙂

    Pardon my schizophrenia. Or failure. Or why the Hipsters won’t even take me.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more. The constant hustle and pressure that we are all put under is stress enough…it is in cooking that I find my relaxation and passion. I checked out your blog post, its so GREAT, I’ll subscribe now!! So truthful. This world needs more of that, for sure. Let me know if you ever try the chicken! –Chrissy

  9. Looks & sounds delicious! I love lemon on chicken. I believe it tenderizes the meat…and the flavor of lemon, so sunny yellow, yum! Thanks for sharing!

  10. I always love a good chicken dish. Congrats on FP

  11. Fantastic! I’m making this tonight!

  12. Ba! Why do people insist on making chicken taste like fruit? Yuk!

  13. This sounds amazing! I have yet to cook a chicken in my Dutch oven, though I did learn how to butterfly them a few weeks ago, which really shortens the roasting time in the oven. Yum!!

  14. This is good timing for me — someone just gave me a bag of lemons.

  15. Congratulations on being “Freshly Pressed”

    This looks absolutely yummy and I love seasoning meats with Rosemary and Thyme. The photos and your description makes me want to go out and pick up a roasting chicken this weekend and they’re on special too!

    Just might do that! 🙂

  16. oh my. looks amazing! im stealing this recipe from you! thanks for the recipe and a very good post!

  17. OMG This looks so yummy and I cannot wait to try it 🙂
    Congrats on being freshly pressed

  18. I love lemon “anything!” The ingredients all sound and look so delicious. And what I really like is all of these ingredients are things I would normally have in my kitchen most of the time! Thanks for sharing.

  19. The pictures are great. I actually feel like dipping my hands in them and having a bite. Great post.

  20. Great pictures and really nice recipe.
    I’ll definitely try it.

  21. Hey Congrats on being fresh pressed! Well yeah, this food looks scrumptious. I do not usually add wine to my roast chicken. Let me tell you I will now. And I will drop in again to see what’s cookin’. This is definitely a Feel Good Site.
    Thanks ~Barb

  22. That looks soo good and delicious! Good job! 😀

  23. I personally would stuff the chicken with a stuffing made with lemon and the herbs cos I just love stuffing 🙂 I like the way you used the one dish to cook the chicken and potatoes in but did a different thing with them. Tasty looking recipe, will print out and add to my collection for when its winter here in NZ 🙂 Too hot now.

    • Oooo yea the stuffing would be a great idea, it might get a little too moist, though in the dutch oven (but I’m sure it would be fine if baked on a rack in the oven!) I love stuffing too! The potatoes turned out so tasty…it is the way to go, for easy mashed potatoes.

  24. Great! Imma make sure to try this out sometime, looking at the pictures themselves make me hungry!
    I agree with you on the habit of stores keeping these things on a warmer. They’re right under your nose, and when the smell wafts by, it’s sometimes too hard to ignore. SMART STORES.
    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!
    Ashley, aka TheEverydayMuser
    http://www.theeverydaymuser.wordpress.com

  25. wow … I guess I can do it too …. definitely delicious, greetings
    I am from Indonesia

  26. Wow, this looks amazing and so delicious too – I can’t wait to try it – thank you.

  27. I don’t know whether to love you or hate you. It is 5AM and I just discovered your blog. I am now so hungry I am eying my mouse pad. That looks soooooo good and you have just solved the question “what can I make for Sunday dinner”. I won’t change a thing except my wife is not a big fan of thyme and rosemary…I forgive her for that.

    I having been creative cooking for years and in my family food is a recreation. Please visit me at http://www.rrosen1.com

    • That is a crying shame about the rosemary and thyme… I would try basil, maybe sage, then!

      We are so happy you love the blog, although I don’t think we can reimburse you if you do end up eating you mouse pad… Haha just make that chicken asap!

      Let us know how your food-loving family likes it!

  28. Amazing !! looks really delicious !!
    Thanks for the share.

    Vanimator
    http://www.vanimator.com

  29. I love one pot Recipes and this was one of the tastiest recipes I have tried.

  30. This looks so good and I am sure it is – Maybe I’ll talk to my wife!
    Thanks for the post!

  31. Wonderful site ladies – I’ll be sure to try that chicken.

  32. Wow that looks delicious! I want to try it one day 🙂

  33. Lemon!?!?! How fabulous! I never thought of using lemon! Great recipe!!!

  34. great pictures and great process. definitely a classic dish!

  35. Thanks for the post and making it on Freshly Pressed. I have recently been buying entire chickens. Where I live they are very inexpensive, and we get multiple meals out of them. I make pot pies, quesadillas, salad, and anything else I think of that week. Whole chickens are so yummy.Thanks again.

  36. Look delicious! Do you recommend this for beginners like me?

  37. This is beautiful! It is 12:37, i am not hungry in the slightest, and am half asleep, but I could still eat this. For valentines my man and I will be cooking together and we just might make this.

    Also, how do you zest so perfectly? I just bought a new kitchenaid grader and it i can barely get any zest. Do you use a special lemon zester? if there is such a thing?

    • Great idea! It’s a perfect meal for two on Valentines day 🙂 We use a Microplane Zester/Grater Classic Series. You can get these almost anywhere that cookware is sold. They are awesome and much easier to use than a normal grater.

  38. due to allergy, I will leave the celery out – but get the chuck in for some serious chicken tonite 🙂

  39. The ‘dutch’-word did it….
    Being Dutch myself, I wondered…
    DId not know this recipy.
    Looks delicious.
    Will it taste over the moon?

    Just have to try and find out,
    that’s the adventure of it.
    Thank you for sharing this.
    Keep on with zest and smiles! 😉

  40. WOW! I have most of these ingredients on hand – I’m going to make this tonight!!! Thank you!

  41. Looks wonderful – and I have a feezer full of our own home reared chickens, so will give this a go! Thanks for the inspiration.

  42. Congrats on being freshly pressed it looks sooooo goood

  43. Мне нравится этот рецепт и особенно – специи!

  44. this looks so tasty…my stomach is growling!!

  45. I have no doubt this would be absolutely and completely amazing!!! Can’t wait to make it! Thanks so much for sharing – I bet those smashed potatoes are to die for!
    http://www.uforicfood.wordpress.com

    Congrats on being Fresh;y Pressed!
    Lisa~

  46. looks amazing! I’m going to give it a shot! 😀

  47. It looks SOOOOOOOO Good. WOW. I am not the best cook, but I have to give this a try, it looks yummy! -Thank you

  48. Wow – I am won over. Gorgeous pics and recipes! Will be making oven chicken, which I never have had the nerve to try before. Love your blog!

  49. hmmm… cant wait to try this… yum!

  50. Baking the chicken now and the house smells incredible!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment